Memories

I scanned the list of patients coming in; Fridays were always busy.
One name I hesitated over, read, and then re read.
My stomach sank.
She was back.
Not again.
Overdose.
I glanced up from the desk as the secured double doors thudded closed again.
I remember the first time she came in.
She looked different now.
False laughter smeared her face, but the circles under her eyes and the nasty slashes on her arms told the real story.
Bruises from the IV and blood testing were already forming, dark and ugly.
Poor thing.
Ten hours.
She wanted dead, instead she got ten hours with tubes in her veins.
She was still wearing sweats, no makeup.
Must have been sick as hell that morning, if she wasn’t wearing makeup…

~ by scribbz on December 15, 2008.

One Response to “Memories”

  1. Even as I say this, I regret saying it…
    This story is great, but to make it even better, you investigate even further into the relationship between % gie” and “attending nurse”
    I regret saying it because it will surprise you how instantly dark and demented this writing will become.
    Definitely expound upon it though.

Leave a comment